David Larson Takes Down WPT Rolling Thunder Main Event for $295,128

A total of 440 entrants made their way to the Thunder Valley Casino Resort in hopes of winning the 2018 World Poker Tour (WPT) Rolling Thunder $3,500 No-Limit Hold’em Main Event. After 5 days of hard fought battle over a total prize pool of $1,408,000, it was U.S.A’s David Larson who walked away with the title as well as a cool $295,128 for his efforts.
Larson actually began the six handed final table as the shortest stack. U.S Poker Pro Ping Liu came in as the chip leader, with WSOP Main Event winner Joe McKeehen right behind him.
Larson however managed to maneuver his stack all the way into a heads up against Ian Steinman, most of his chip-ups coming via hands against Joe McKeehen who eventually busted at 3rd place to take home $131,081. Larson’s momentum carried him forward to dispense of Ian Steinman (who actually began heads-up  with the chip lead) within the next 30 hands to clinch the victory.
A Look at the Final Table Payouts:

1. David Larson – $295,128

2. Ian Steinman – $201,428
3. Joseph McKeehen – $131,081
4. Ping Liu – $97,510
5. Andreas Kniep – $69,650
6. D.J. Alexander – $56,417
7. Paul McCaffrey – $43,322
8. Glenn Larson – $43,322
9. Pat Lyons – $30,228
This was Larson’s second final table of 2018, having finished 7th in the WSOP Circuit Thunder Valley $365 buy-in bounty tournament earlier this year. Larson also received a $15,000 seat into the upcoming WPT Tournament of Champions.