Global Poker Awards Results are out!


On Friday the Global Poker Award Ceremony was held in the Aria, Las Vegas. The inaugural award ceremony saw the culmination of the European Poker Awards and the American Poker Awards. Commentator Ali Nejad and hostess Drea Renee anchored the award show, which lasted little over an hour. The woman were in the spotlight this year clinching awards in the Broadcaster of the Year, Journalist of the Year and Industry Person of the Year.

Here’s a look at the final nominees and the winners results across all categories. (Winners of each category highlighted)


  • Tournament Performance

Justin Bonomo (Super High Roller Bowl IV)

John Cynn (WSOP Main Event)

Maria Lampropulos (PCA Main Event)

Dylan Linde (WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic)

  • Breakout Player of the Year

Almedin “Ali” Imsirovic

Maria Konnikova

Ping Liu

Christopher Michael Soyza

  • Streamer Of The Year

Jeff Gross

Jason Somerville

Jaime Staples

Lex Veldhuis

  • Vlogger Of The Year

Marle Cordeiro

Joe Ingram

Andrew Neeme

Daniel Negreanu

Doug Polk

  • Podcast of the Year

LFG Podcast (Chad Holloway, Jamie Kerstetter)

PokerCentral Podcast (Brent Hanks, Remko Rinkema)

PokerNews Podcast (Sarah Herring, Jeff Platt)

The Chip Race Poker Podcast (David Lappin, Dara O’Kearney)

The Fives a Podcast (Lance Bradley, Donnie Peters)

  • Broadcaster of the Year

Maria Ho

Lon McEachern

Nick Schulman

Lex Veldhuis

  • Poker Journalist of the Year

Drew Amato

Sarah Herring

Remko Rinkema

Christian Zetzsche

  • Media Content of the Year

Drew Amato (photo: Brunson bids farewell to WSOP)

Lance Bradley (book: The Pursuit of Poker Success)

Haley Hintze (article: Vayo v. PokerStars)

PokerCentral/GO (Super High Roller Club: Schulman featuring Nejad)

  • Industry Person

Angelica Hael (World Poker Tour)

Cary Katz (Poker Central)

Matt Savage (WPT, TDA, more)

Ty Stewart (World Series of Poker)

Rob Yong (Dusk Till Dawn, partypoker)

  • Tournament Director of the Year

Tony Burns (Seminole Hard Rock)

Paul Campbell (ARIA)

Jack Effel (WSOP)

Kenny Halleart (Unibet Open)

  • Mid-Major Tour/Circuit of the Year

888poker Live

RUNGOOD Poker Series

Unibet Open


WSOP Circuit

  • Event Of The Year

Partypoker Caribbean Poker Party Main Event

Super High Roller Bowl IV

WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic

WSOP Main Event

Moment Of The Year

  • Jeremy Hilsercop receives PSPC Platinum Pass (with help from Joe Ingram, Arlie Shaban, PokerStars, and the poker community) as video of wife gifting him a trip to WSOP on Christmas day goes viral
  • Joe Cada wins WSOP The Closer; registering for the event moments after a remarkable 5th place finish in WSOP Main Event
  • Doyle Brunson plays his final WSOP event
  • Justin Bonomo wins Big One for One Drop, completing Super High Roller Streak (SHRB China, SHRB IV, One Drop)

Other Trophies Presented

2018 GPI Poker Player of the Year: Alex Foxen

2018 GPI Female Player of the Year: Kristen Bicknell

People’s Choice Award for Poker Personality of the Year: Brad Owen

Charitable Initiative: Robbie Strazynski for ‘Run Well Campaign’

Award for Lifetime Achievement in Poker: Doyle Brunson

Jury Prize: Drew Amato

PocketFives Legacy Award: Chris Moorman

Kudos to the nominees, the winners and the community for celebrating the game of poker.