Kid Poker leads WSOP Player of the Year 2019


The man is back yet again to claim another title! Yes, we speak of Daniel Negreanu who’s had an incredible run in the 2019 World Series of Poker Europe with six cashouts, pushing him to numero uno in the WSOP player of the year 2019 standings!

 WSOP had revamped its Player of the Year formula in 2018 and has implemented the changes in the 2019 WSOP tournament. The formula lays emphasis on calculating the WSOP circuit rankings based on field sizes and buy-ins. The changes aim to offer better rewards to bracelet winners and a bigger gap in points between the first and second finisher.

 The last week has seen some ups and downs in the WSOP player of the year standings. The first position toggled between Shaun Deeb, Robert Campbell, and Daniel Negreanu. Robert Campbell was leading the race at the beginning of the tournament. The privilege came from the fact that he was the only player at the World Series of Poker 2019 in Las Vegas who managed to win two bracelets.

Campbell stood his ground during the first few events until Shaun Deeb overtook him. Shaun then took the lead after finishing 18th in Event No.2: €550 Pot-Limit Omaha and 13th in Event No. 7: €1,100 Turbo Bounty Hunter No-Limit Hold’em. Unable to retain the lead for more than two days, the baton was passed back to Campbell who re-secured the spot with another 3 cashes to his standing.

 The two-time WSOP player of the year winner (2004 and 2013), Negreanu inched his way up to take the lead after finishing in the money in bracelet events. His biggest snatch was finishing 6th in Event No.10: €25,500 Mixed Games Championship and 20th in the €2,200 Pot-Limit Omaha tournament. With only a few events left, the question remains if Negreanu will be able to hold onto his lead and clinch his third title.

Here’s a look at the latest standings:


Rank Name 2019 WSOP POY Points
1 Daniel Negreanu 3,971.54
2 Robert Campbell 3,857.97
3 Shaun Deeb 3,710.64
4 Phillip Hui 3,186.17
5 Dan Zack 3,126.13
6 Dash Dudley 2,799.44
7 Chris Ferguson 2,790.42
8 Phil Hellmuth 2,742.43
9 Anthony Zinno 2,718.15
10 Asi Moshe 2,685.53



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here