Preben Stokkan kicks of 2017 Caribbean Party Poker Festival with $275,000 score


Melia Caribe Tropical, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, played host to the 2017 Caribbean Poker Party Festival this week. The tournament series features $10,000,000 in guaranteed prize pools and is part of Party Poker Live with events running between 19th and 25th November.

Preben Stokkan from Norway emerged victorious out of 103 Entries that were made in the first event of the series – $1,000,000 guaranteed $10,300 buying ‘MILLIONS’ high roller. Stokkan took home a cool $275,000 and a Title for his troubles. He also racked up 600 Card Player Payer of the year points which saw him move up to 144th place in the overall Player of the year standings presented in 2017 by the Commerce Casino & Hotel. This is Stokkan’s sixth POY qualified final table for 2017.

Another Big mover in POY standings was German Poker Pro Steffen Sontheimer who also made the final table for a 7th place finish in the event, earning him 150 points as well as $55,000 in cash. With this latest score, Sontheimer’s total cashes for 2017 touch an astounding $6,675,332. With 4,502 points earned so far, he also jumped to 7th position on the POY leaderboard.

The Final table was stacked with big names such as WSOP bracelet winners Pascal LeFrancoise (6th – $70,000), Alexandru Papazian (4th – $100,000), Sam Greenwood (3rd – $124,100) and Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville champ and frequent high roller competitor Sean Winter (8th – $40,000). Kenny Hallaert – 2016 WSOP main event sixth place finisher – took home $85,000 for his fifth place finish. World Poker Tour champion Jonathan Little finished runners up securing $175,000 for his efforts.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Preben Stokkan $275,000 600
2 Jonathan Little $175,000 500
3 Samuel Greenwood $124,100 400
4 Alexandru Papazian $100,000 300
5 Kenny Hallaert $85,000 250
6 Pascal LeFrancois $70,000 200
7 Steffen Sontheimer $55,000 150
8 Sean Winter $40,000 100
9 Felipe Ramos $30,000 50