Ryan Mandara Takes Down 2018 Irish Poker Open Main Event for €210,000

The 2018 Irish Poker Open Main Event with a buy-in of €1,150, attracted a massive 1,348 entries and paid out a minimum of €2,125 to the top 167 players. Of these, it was Ryan Mandara from the UK who cut through the field to come out on top and take home the title as well as €210,000 ($257,321 USD) for his efforts.
Having first made its appearance in 1980, the Irish Poker Open is the longest running no-limit hold’em tournament in Europe and was hosted at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin this year. The event easily surpassed its guaranteed prize pool of €1 Mn to generate an incredible €1,347,164.
Another major highlight of the event was runner-up  Ferdia O’Connell who actually satellited into the main event for 1 Penny! Mandara and O’Connell made a deal heads-up that saw both players lock up €180,000 and play for the title as well as the difference amount –  €30,000. Unbelievable though it may sound, O’Connell received a return of nearly 1.8 Billion times his investment for the event.
A look at the final table payouts:
1.Ryan Mandara -$257,321
2.Ferdia O’Connell -$220,561
3.Pascal Sven Baumgartner -$123,000
4.Dan Samson -$92,250
5.Joseph Cahill -$67,650
6.Sameer Singh -$52,275
7.Daniel Fargher -$39,360
8.Dean Clay -$28,290
9.David Barnes -$23,375
Ryan Mandara moves up to 279th on the England All-Time Money List after this victory, according to his Hendon Mob profile. Mandara’s total live earnings now touch $391,596, this win being his highest to date by a considerable margin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here